WASHINGTON D.C. — (11-16-22) — Twelve Senate Republicans joined Democrats in voting 62-37 to advance the Same-Sex Marriage Rights Bill, named officially as the ‘Respect for Marriage Act’ on Wednesday.

The legislation received 62 votes, two more than the 60 votes needed to invoke cloture to begin or end debate on a bill. In July, the House passed the Same-Sex Marriage Rights Bill’ (Respect for Marriage Act), with 47 Republicans voting in favor of it.

Here are the twelve GOP senators who voted to advance the legislation:

Roy Blunt (MO)
Richard Burr (NC)
Shelley Moore Capito (WV)
Susan Collins (ME)
Joni Ernst (IA)
Cynthia Lummis (WY)
Lisa Murkowski (AK)
Rob Portman (OH)
Dan Sullivan (AK)
Mitt Romney (UT)
Thom Tillis (NC)
Todd Young (IN)

Once the senate passes the Respect for Marriage Act, it will be sent to President Joe Biden’s desk for his signature.

Article by: Paul Goldberg, Staff Writer

Sign Up Below for #JRLCHARTS Breaking News and Follow @JRLCHARTS Daily on Twitter

Related News